By on December 31, 2019 0 743 Views


The Executive Chairman of Ojokoro LCDA Hon .Hammed Idowu D .Tijani has appealed to the people of Ojokoro community to love one another and maintain religious harmony.

Hon.Tijan made the appeal during a one-day interactive session organized by the Ojokoro LCDA Chapter of the Nigeria Inter- Religious Council (NIREC), held at the Council Secretariat complex recently.

He emphasized on the importance of loving one another, with religious tolerance, which he described as good characteristics of religious worshippers.

The Council boss therefore preached on having inter-religious harmony within the community.

He said “we should love one another and let our religious beliefs reflect in our various activities”.

Hon. Hammed commended religious leaders in the LCDA for always preaching the word of God to the people and also canvassing for peaceful coexistence among members of the community, irrespective of their religious beliefs.

He said “There is peace and harmony in the community due to your prayers and support”.

Speaking on the theme: “Inter-Religious Harmony : The way Forward” one of the guest lecturers, an Islamic scholar, Dr. Saheed Timehin of the Lagos State University, Ojo, gave reasons why Muslims and Christians should live together in harmony as they both serves the same God, but in different ways.

He said religious intolerance, as a result of ignorance, often cause crisis which may eventually lead to war.

Rev. (Dr.) Stephen Bolarinwa, the CAN President, Ojokoro chapter, appreciated the Council Chairman and also urged the people of Ojokoro to emulate the lesson preached in the event as it is an eye opener in shaping our way of life.

Alhaji Abdul-Yekeen Mufutau, the Chief Imam of Ojokoro, while giving the vote of thanks, also appreciated the Chairman for his moral and financial support towards the growth and promotion of religious groups in Ojokoro.

Present at the event are different religious leaders and worshippers from the community including Apostle (Dr.) S.A Iyiola Aladewura, Dr.Saheed Timehin, Alhaji Ambali Lawal, Hon.Jamiu Odebiyi Chief of staff., Hon.H.O Davies, (Supervisor for Agriculture and Social services); Alhaji Nosiru Busari (Supervisor for Health) amongst others.



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *